I don’t have answers:

It’s been four months since I have written. My heart needed a break.

I wondered if I would write here in this place again.

I have many words and none at all. Somehow all at once.

 

 

There was a time in my life I thought I knew it all. Now, I know I really know nothing.

I don’t know why tragic things happen in life.

I don’t even want to guess an answer.

 It’s been a hard year.

I won’t go through all the details but I see you nodding your head.

It’s been hard for you too. I know it has friend.

My cousin passed away the other night, two weeks after her baby boy was born stillborn.

There are no answers. There are no words.

 

 

IMG_2098

We need to get to a place in our lives: that we are okay with not having answers.

It doesn’t mean our faith is weak.

 

 

Life is messy and painful and beautiful; that it often takes your breath away.

It is sunsets and sunrises.

It’s new buds on a tree and leaves that fall.

It’s birth and death.

IMG_2125

Life is a moment.

A brief moment.

And in this blink of  a moment, let us not try and answer the why’s

because when we try to answer the why’s, we minimize pain.

We shrink it down to a level that we feel we can tuck away.

And we can’t and we shouldn’t.

 

In our moments of why’s– let us sit and feel the pain.

Let us listen to each other and when we can, lighten the burden not with words but deeds.

Let us have space in our calendar that has room for others.

Let us show up and be close.

So close that it is uncomfortable

in order that we can truly say God is close to the broken hearted and binds up their wounds.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

